Author Interview with Ms. Amanda Gibbs of Making It

It’s not everyday that you get to encounter a book that will really make you smile. So today, we’re so privileged that Ms. Amanda dropped by the blog and shared some of her thoughts about Making It 🙂

book tour author photo

What motivated you to write “Making It”?

My motivation for Making It was, I think, to write a love story that was real, genuine, and didn’t come across like a Harlequin.  Because no real love story does.  I wanted to challenge myself with different writing forms and styles, while at the same time telling the story of a couple that I have come to care deeply about.  I was motivated by wanting to share an honest love story with myself and the rest of the world.

Where did you get inspiration for your characters?

The biggest inspiration definitely came from my grandparents, who have been happily married for over 50 years.  I have never seen a couple more devoted, more faithful, more loving of each other and they inspire me every day.  Their relationship isn’t perfect, but no truly great one is.

What are the books that encouraged you to write?

My favourite books of all time, that continue to inspire me still, would be anything by Michael Faudet, David Levithan, and Walt Whitman.  I will always love anything Walt Whitman.  As well, my mother’s poetry was what first encouraged me to write, and still does today.

I really love the concept on how you told the story of the couple. So if there is one song that will describe “Making It”, what will it be?

Thanks so much!  I really appreciate that.  Hmm.. I think the song that would describe Making It best would be Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran.  If you read the book and listen to the song, you’ll know exactly what I mean 🙂

What can your readers look forward to reading your book?

I think readers can look forward to something genuine, honest, and often times funny.  I think they can look forward to taking a glimpse into the most real love story I imagined.

What is one advice that you can give to us, your readers?

I would say to any reader that you deserve a love story as great as the one’s you read about, and to never settle for anything less.  It may take a few frogs to find your prince/princess, but no great love story comes without a couple hurdles.

What can we expect from you next?

Well, right now I have a million story ideas, but I do really love writing about Him and Her… so for now I would say don’t forget about Making It just yet! 😉

Thanks so much for taking the time to interview me, all the best! – Amanda ❤

Leave a Reply

